News Broadcasting Standards Authority

In a first-ever initiative, the News Broadcasters Association (NBA), an Association of private news and current affairs broadcasters in India, has set up an independent self regulatory mechanism i.e. the News Broadcasting Standards Authority (NBSA) to enforce the NBA's Code of Ethics & Broadcasting Standards, which are binding on the members of NBA, which includes both national and regional channels. NBSA became operational on October 2, 2008.

The Nine Member NBSA consists of a Chairperson, being an eminent jurist, four independent members and four editors employed with the broadcasters.

The first Chairperson of the NBSA was late Mr. Justice (Retd.) J. S. Verma, former Chief Justice of India and former Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission. The present Chairperson is Justice (Retd) R. V. Raveendran, former Judge of the Supreme Court of India.